The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Venus Rising

This morning was dismal, with clouds and rain, and general malaise. I awoke very early and could not get back to sleep, and while I managed to catch a West Coast friend still up and Tweeting, what I really wanted was some more shut-eye.

That didn't happen, and resulted in me wandering around and deciding to make banana bread swirled with Nutella. This was a big hit later in the afternoon, so I forgive my body for refusing to sleep past 6:00 am!

As a child, I adored observing the sky over Seneca Lake, one of the FInger Lakes in New York State, U.S.A.'s Wine Country. With no street lights or city light pollution, there was an amazing view of the solar system. I was fascinated, and spent many hours learning about the stars and planets from my father.

Tonight, New Jersey was blessed with a clear sky, and although the stars are faint around here, the planets were blazing in the sky. Witness Venus rising, with Jupiter leading the parade of planets. Mercury followed about 30 minutes later, but this photo came out perfect.

Jiminy Cricket may have sung about wishing upon a star, but for me, my secret pleas to the heavens were always to the planet Venus. Our sister planet, she is the brightest natural object in the sky after our Moon.

Falling Stars are exciting to witness, and a good meteor shower will send shivers up one's spine, but for me, Venus, named for the Roman goddess of love and beauty, will always be my "shining star."

Quite fitting for this "lovechild."

Peace be with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.