Mr Smith

By MrSmith

Mushroom Risotto

Two years ago my sister bought me these two mushroom logs. I followed the instructions to the letter and placed them in a damp spot in the garden (not difficult) after first of all giving them a bash on the ground to get the spores activated.

And then I waited.

And waited.

Nothing.

A few months ago I gave up on them and chucked them in the garage. Last week the garage flooded in the great summer deluge. When we were clearing the garage out and rescuing kids bikes etc Mrs Smith brought the logs into the house as she thought they might be useful for an Autumnal window display in her shop and she wanted to dry them out.

Hey Presto, the soaking and then the warmth of the house has finally done the trick - within two days we've got some mushrooms emerging. I'll see if they are ready to chuck in a risotto this wekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.