Live, love, laugh

By Rianka

798 Art District

Today we had another try at retrieving my mail.. This time the teacher that lives with us came along to help us out. We took the bus on stop the other way then we went yesterday? and she asked at some kind of military building. We actually walked by that one yesterday as well, but yeah, we didn't actually dare to ask the guards for my mail. In our best Chinese?
So this morning the teacher did it for us.. But after looking at the address my mother used we found out that the address was, of course, totally wrong and in a totally different district of Beijing?
So I will have to e-mail someone from AIESEC to try and pick it up with me. I was so sad and feeling really stupid. I would really love to get my letters, and now we have spent like two mornings on getting them, without any result..

We made plans for the rest of the day. We were supposed to see the 798 Art District and go to the Olympic Park after that. We never made it to the Olympic Park though. We just had the best of time wondering around at the Art District. Kaho and I were half an hour to early at the meeting point, so we had a fancy lunch (for almost 5 euro's :P). We met up with Penny (Chinese) first and then Marlene (from Austria), Beth (from Canada) and Luca (from Germany) joined us. It took us a while to figure out which bus to take. Finally getting at the right bus stop, it took us a little while to find out where the entrance of the Art District was.. Eventually we entered the district through a gate that was closed, but we could fit through. We were feeling a little bit like criminals.. We wondered around the district.. not really seeing a lot of people and being a little bit disappointed by the lack of vibe there..We saw a wedding shoot and crazy Chinese boys in short pants! We even saw like the English red phone boots and made pictures while we were all standing in it. After that we got more creative in making different pictures and doing crazy stuff. It was so much fun and I am looking forward to seeing all the pictures :) We walked around the district some more and finally found the place where the other people were hanging out. There were a lot of really big statues and a nice vibe. You could go inside a lot of art galleries and see totally different things. The company of the other girls was amazing. We talked about cultural differences, between China en Europe and between Europe and Europe. Did you know that in Germany and Austria it is normal to have like a warm lunch and a warm dinner? In Canada it is the same as in the Netherlands actually. This was a little bit weird for me. We had yoghurt at the Art District and then started our trip back to their university where we would have dinner together.

We had dinner at a Japanese restaurant, which was really good and Kaho could help us choose the right things. I had like rice with egg and chicken, some soup, cucumber and a ridiculously large coke. We had some ice-cream afterwards and made a lot of jokes during dinner. At the end of the dinner we were talking about all kinds of Disney movies that we all love! So we decided to go to Beth's dorm and watch Tangled. I enjoy that movie every time. We all set on her bed and watched half of the movie, before Kaho and I had to go back to our apartment again.

At the moment, my feet are really hurting and I am feeling more and more tiered. Tomorrow I have to get up at 6.30 again, so I think I should call it a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.