Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

The worried dog.

I saw my friend John at the Saturday car boot sale on the old fish market. He had promised me when I saw him on Thursday when I met him by chance, that he had bought some Edwardian post cards and Victorian photographs. Ceredwin knows I a m a great fan of "trumpery" and would probably not be surprised that I am still buying junk, even though I am skint. John apologised and told me that because he had endured a particularly bad week, he had acceted a cash offer of £40 from a fellow stallholder called Terry.I was a bit pissed off, but given my current economic position, I assured him that I would have done the same in his shoes. I bought some trinkets for some macro type work and went to have a look at Terry's recent acquisitions. He was brilliant and I found 18 cards that appealed. For a very fair price I might add. This is one of the most amusing ones. It is French, and it best European tradition, it was of course printed in Germany. A lot of the cards used to say Prussia. In my opinion, for what that's worth, it is in pristine condition and is a very good quality postcard. That might help to explain its condition. The surface is textured in a khaki sort of colour. The angles of the room, the brolly, the little dog and the puddle, are embossed from the rear of the card, pardon the expression. To complete this to me very Arty card,it has shadows of the dog and brolly which you may be able to determine from the image. I had to use nearly the maximum ISO to achieve the shot. I can guess with my very limited schoolboy French, the gist of the message. I would apreciate from a more advanced scholar, a more precise translation. Mercy buckets as they say in Preston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.