Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

E.T. Jellyfish

No, it's not The Day the Earth Stood Sill, but still cool. Altocumulus castelanus clouds form when warm Gulf Stream air is trapped between layers of dry air at around 17,000 ft. The trailing "tentacles" are Virga, rain that evaporates before it hits the ground and here are called "trailing virga". I got a couple other shots from downtown of these clouds later as they blew over Boise. This image is close to my house about 25 miles away (from Boise, the photos I shot later in the day) as they were making their journey eastward this morning.

Not many blips lately, I've been busy shooting and not enough time to blip. I'll see about backblipping, but often those go unseen, so we'll see.

Also been busy getting some prints ready for a gallery show opening Sept 4 and running through October. A series of my figure work. If you're in Boise during Sept and Oct, stop by the Basement Gallery, 10th & Main, and check it out.

Looking back, I think this fits the Assignment33 Where the Wild Things Are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.