Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Reading enriches your quality of life.

As a small child my dear Dad would often tell me a bed time story.
I struggled to read in the infants at school, but Mum signed us up at the local Addiscombe library, in Surrey where I grew up. I really loved visiting this library in the local park, even though SHHH ! was the order of the day!
Here I discovered the Ruby Ferguson series about horses, and I galloped through these wonderful equine adventures. I developed a love for animal stories, and relished Ring of Bright Water, Watership Down, Lassie and The Incredible Journey.
As I studied for A levels in English, History, Art and French back in the seventies, reading was a huge part of my life.
As an Art and English teacher, I rose to the challenge of passing on my enthusiasm for reading to a wide variety of children with diverse abililities.
The Fuzz Buzz reading scheme was used in schools at that time with special needs children.
This blip shows some of the books we have at home. No Kindle owners yet in our family, but we gave one to my Father -in -law for his 80th birthday in 2011. We love the feel of paper books and would struggle to move on to e -books even though in other ways we are eco -friendly.
My husband avidly reads science fiction. Maria is studying books for A level Geography. Sociology, English Language and English Literature.
This blip was inspired by the campaign to Get Britain Reading.
I think this is a fantastic national unifying incentive and a good example to the nations young people.
See www.itv.com/daybreak/getbritainreading.for more information.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.