Ian's learning curve

By ianrav

Thinking time

What is blipfoto?

A question I seem to have been asking myself on and off all day!

I joined blipfoto yesterday and to be honest, i didn't really know what I was signing onto. I looked at blipfoto as a variation on some of the larger photo sharing sites.

It's not.

I had never considered the concept of a photo journal. I'm simply a novice photographer wanting to learn the art as quickly as possible. I didn't expect it would dominate my thoughts after only a single post.

It has.

I spent the morning browsing through the site. I looked at excellent photographs taken by excellent photographers (really excellent photographers!). I expected to see this level of photography. I didn't expect to see such frank, sometimes profound and often funny 'diary entries'.

I started to wonder, is blipfoto a site where you comment on your photographs or photograph your comments?

I haven't decided how i'm going to use blipfoto. I wonder, am I good enough? can i share my thoughts within a community such as this (albeit from what I seen a very pleasant community!)? What if no one views my photographs? or worse what if you don't like them? Do I care?? Probably.

So, whilst i consider how to proceed, I have decided to post a photograph (for my 'day 2') that best represents the thoughts today. Not my best photograph of today (although it is my first post processed RAW photo so has significance to me..) - but certainly appropriate and in keeping with my understanding of a photo journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.