BROWN(?)ian motion.

I recently bought a new batch of KmnO4. It's finely powdered. I wish I'd got this idea while I still had some of the, bigger, crystalline stuff.

The gist of the set up was to see how fast the permanganate permeated through the water. The perishing stuff was so fine that after 3 previous tries (All of which were used) I left the bottle under a tap yielding one drop every 4-5 seconds: it seems to have still been too fast since this is the sight which greeted me after better part of 24/36hrs.
Time wasted for a number of reasons.
1. It filled too fast and, obviously, agitated the solution.
2. It wasted a batch by going off on me while filling, whereas it usually lasts 24-36hrs before being ''outed''.
3. I, seriously, doubt I'll get away with leaving it on the work-top long enough.

For anybody still with me, and lacking the relevant knowledge ... KMnO4 = potassium permanganate and is supposed to be purple.
I was just a wee bit amused at the idea of using brown liquid to observe ''Brownian Motion''.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.