Today's Special

By Connections

Take Your Pick!

We seem to have had several seasons in a single day today!

The heavy rain we awoke to continued throughout the morning. It didn't stop Phil from going to the Y to play pickleball, but Miss Annie and I decided that a walk wasn't on the cards, because it would have been more of a swim than a stroll.

The rain stopped shortly before Phil returned home, and after lunch, the soft overcast light was perfect for photographing the buds on the flowering red currant bush in the front yard. Once these native plants begin to bloom, we can expect to see (and hear) hummingbirds again, so seeing those buds made me hopeful that spring was finally on its way.

On my way downtown this afternoon to do a "big shop" at the Community Food Co-op, I decided to make a quick stop at Lake Padden Park to see if there were any blip possibilities. Just as I parked the car, the fine rain began to turn into light hail, but it didn't seem to deter this focused fellow!

Driving home with a carload of groceries, I was keeping an eye on the sky conditions, which seemed to vary from bright sunshine to dark clouds every half mile or so. I decided to stop off again at the park, hoping that maybe I'd find sunshine there for a few minutes -- and ta-dah! As you see above, I did!

Just before we sat down for supper, Phil went over to the kitchen window, which looks out on our front yard and cul-de-sac, to close the blinds -- and after hearing his surprised exclamation, I knew I had to take one more photo today. Not my finest work -- I hate using flash -- but I wouldn't want you to miss this!

P.S. Phil did a food blip today -- enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.