Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Dunnock

Another late night last night took the book up to 31,000 words but haven't done much today as yet since I was on the phone this morning with an old friend I bet I haven't seen for 10 or 15 years. He's written a book too, so we shared notes and experiences.

I'm a big believer in serendipity. He was telling me about his daughter who works for a large confectionery company. I'd been trying to find an "in" with the company since I think that one of the games my two eldest boys have made could help it with its branding. So I've emailed the game to my friend who will email them to his daughter and we'll wait and see.

One of son number two Rob's games, Hambo, is being made in to an app but the company that's doing it has taken an interminable time in doing so. Anyway it seems now that things are moving and Rob posted me an amusing (well I thought so) trailer. If you compare them you will see it's very different in the animation treatment than the original game which I think had a little more charm.

When you've made something and someone wants to take it further, the new creative people generally want to put their own stamp on it. It's the way these things work. It will be interesting to see how it goes.

Oh, I almost forgot the picture which is fitting really because the little Dunnock makes its way so quietly around the garden that it doesn't trouble anyone. I'd been out with the macro lens photographing hellebores (will they never get blipped?) when I saw three long tailed tits come on to the silver birch. I dashed back inside for t'big lens, knowing they would be off by the time I came back and they were. But then this chap appeared as if to say: "Don't worry old man you can always blip me." And that's why I like the Dunnock. No fuss, no bombast, no chest puffing or fancy feathers. But it's there for you when you need it. Like a good friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.