La vida de Annie

By Annie

Scouse rap

With all the excitement at the weekend but no internet (or rather there was but no-one knew the password) I'm a bit behind with the backblips. Today I resisted the temptation of a lie-in and went into town by train for the monthly coffee morning at Neurosupport, thinking (rightly) it would soothe my frayed nerves. There I got talking to a guy who was a keen photographer before a massive brain injury a couple of decades ago, resulting in his losing his job and family and a lot of confidence. He brought some of his (film) photos, mostly monos, to show me, and it was clear he has a superb natural eye. As well as closeups of interesting but often unnoticed objects (to non-blippers) he had superb landscapes and cityscapes with creative viewpoints, and some excellent band pictures from the '80s (Sex Pistols, The Clash etc.). He lit up when explaining the pleasure he got taking these, and I encouraged him to take up photography again, as both a hobby and therapy. I told him how taking pictures every day has kept me going over recent times, and showed him a dozen or so pictures I'd taken on the way there, uninteresting in themselves but little things that caught my eye at the time (you all know how it is), and he was completely fascinated. I do hope he manages to start taking pictures again. This one is of some graffiti not far from Neurosupport.

Had a chat with the staff about an upcoming event I offered to shoot (they loved my last pictures, which was a real boost), and spent the afternoon happily pottering around town in the sunshine. Left it a bit too late to avoid the rush hour so the return train was packed again, and although I did manage to get on had to stand all the way, just as exhaustion set in. Although I was clearly hobbling and unwell none of the young healthy passengers offered a seat, and at each stop any vacated ones were eagerly occupied by others pushing past. By my stop I was feeling decidedly petulant and pouty and mentally preparing a rant about the youth of today, but just as I approached the steep stone station steps a young chap kindly offered to carry my heavy shopping bag up for me. That simple act of caring turned my whole mood around, as I've noticed before even a cheery word can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.