La vida de Annie

By Annie

Mid-morning snack...

...well I do have the vampire teeth after all.
Fasting blood test this morning - you never do become comfortable with needles even after the excesses of last year. It's been done before, but I asked if they minded my taking a picture of my half-an-arm's worth (blippers of a certain age would understand the reference). One nurse said "I remember someone doing that a couple of years ago". "That would be me" said I. I asked if they thought it strange, and prepared to offer the explanation that because of a brain haemorrhage last year I took pictures of what I do each day so that I can remember them, as in the film Memento. This of course is not strictly true as my memory does work, albeit not very efficiently, but I thought it was a good line to let me blip all manner of things in future. If anyone else is thinking of pinching that idea, I have copyright. Anyway, she replied "not at all - we're used to all kinds of things in here". I asked for an example, and after muttering something about confidentiality, and my pressing further (with the additional comment that I would forget it anyway) she said "some people soil themselves". No wonder they didn't mind my little camera.

I managed to push that image away for long enough to consume some lunch, and then, faced with another nice sunny day and the prospect of hours of photo editing waiting at home, avoided the issue again and went to FACT to watch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, which was excellent - well acted by an all-star British cast, funny, poignant and with wonderful scenes of India which powerfully brought back a trip I made there 30 years ago. The filmgoing experience was enhanced by the fact that I had unwittingly gone to a Senior Screening, and although I had to pay full price the place was packed with noisy, chatty and grumpy pensioners clutching (and spilling) complimentary tea and biscuits and their half-price tickets. The irony of a few hundred grey heads watching a film about old age seemed quite lost on most of them. One of the best things about going to the cinema at lunch time is that the sun is still shining when you get out, so all in all another good day. Soon I will be chilled enough to tackle editing those photos. Tal vez mañana...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.