Patrona

By patrona

Found you !!

My trips to Edinburgh are punctuated either by festival, theatre (summer) or revelling in rediscovering favourite food haunts (anytime). So it was with some measure of horror that I found Khushi's in West Nicholson street locked and barred.

However a quick internet search soon revealed its new abode, a shiny new smart fronted shop in Antigua Street.

I have been a customer of Khushi as long as I have been in Edinburgh almost. Missing their first incarnation in Potterow I began to be a saturday regular in 1971 in Lothian Street which is no more, being buried under the Museum of Scotland now, I followed them to Candlemaker Row, faithfully haunted Drummond Street where Mrs Khushi ruled the cauldron, shifted across to the new yuppy palace for a while and then marvelled at Victoria Street, that cavernous cathedral of curry, which expired in flames around 2008, and then the phoenix rising in the cosy basement in West Nicholson Street. Now what I am told will be the final move to Antigua Street.

The photograph shows the ceiling hung with lampshades and lanterns, a reminder that no matter where the restaurant has landed, one of its features has always been a quirky yet stylish design (well not Drummond street so much !!).

The food evolves rather than revolutionises, suits me fine I always have the same thing and the anticipation of the Bhuna adds a frisson of pleasure.

Ah well , back to Spain tomorrow and the regime of chickpeas and salad. I didn't even manage a pint this visit, bad planning to have my lenten abstinence coincide with an Edinburgh weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.