October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Nostalgic Attack

Why this photo was on the hard drive that lost it's head I don't know as I already had it on a CD. But I got a nostalgic attack when I saw it, as I did when we visited there in 2004 nearly half a century after I stayed there for a few weeks or "was sent into the country" - Icelandic: var sendur í sveit.
It was a custom then to send children to stay in the country for a few weeks or the whole summer.
There were three of us boys and we were real cowboys, we had to run the heard after milking and bring it back in the evening. We were forbidden to wade to this holm (hólmi), it was a sanctuary for birds, elfs or things that needed protection and it was bad luck to go there. Being boys of course we had to try and see what would happened.
The inserted photo is the house, the vicarage Fellsmúli in Landsveit. What it is with me and vicarages I don't know - I gave up Christianity way back - but my older son will probably become a priest some day. I shared a bedroom with the priest - the room had this "balcony" but there was just gravel around the house then. At dinner in the kitchen I had Mountain Hekla in my view - later at Staðarstaður (see link) I had Mountain Snæfellsnesjökull in my view - you know, the one that was the opening to the center of the Earth!
In the distance on the large picture you can see the church Staður which the priest serviced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.