Think & Shoot & Think

By micmoment

A smile a day would never keep people away!

The difference between me and them - I wish I had the same opportunities too.

A year ago, I participated in this same project - Project Smile
So this year, I'm back again, since I feel that it's quite a meaningful act.
But it's a little different this time round. I'm not new to it anymore, hence I have my own group to lead.

Thank goodness my group ain't that bad after all. Makes my life easier. Though from their faces I can tell they aren't really interested in the values that we are imparting to them. Even so, I'm still looking forward to third day's service learning trip to the elderly home. That's my main purpose, why I am there.

In Project Smile, magic tricks are used as a tool, or rather a bridge, to narrow the gap and bring people closer. During service learning, students will perform tricks to elderly, in hopes that it will bring a smile to their faces, and also to overcome the communication barrier.

I tried that on a person today. (It doesn't have to be an elderly) And it totally made me went through an unbelievable experience.

I was merely trying my luck, hoping to impress and cheer up a person that wasn't really in a good mood. I thank myself for being so thick-skinned, carrying on with the trick even though I was told he wasn't in the mood for it. That magical moment when his face lit up, and I see that amused look on his face, I knew I did it. Damn, it really works. I put a smile on someone's face, successfully.

What's even better was, that's his precious smile.

Anyway, yes, so now I know why Project Smile is so successful, and why it should definitely be held annually. It's amazing.


-

Why we?

That's a good question.

"Time of the month"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.