Greening

I can't believe it - I've just been ironing napkins!! I don't iron unless strictly necessary. There is a reason for this strange occurence - it's Ladies' Book club tonight and I am the hostess. Did I have any serviettes - no; could I find any napkins - yes, 7 (??); were they clean - yes; were they in any fit state to go on a a table - no. They are now. A quick hoover and de-cobweb, a hasty seearch in the dresser for some sugar and we are ready to go. The wine's chilling, the cake's bought (but it looks homemade, so I might lie) and the cats have been evicted. Tonight we should be discussing The God of Small Things. I read it ages ago and can't remember a whole lot about it - not a good start, and although I've read a lot since the last meeting, nothing I would particularly recommend. It might be Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending, though I only quite liked it.

A hectic day in school - today's theme was Commotion in the Ocean - I am my own worst enemy. Rather mysteriously I came home covered in paint, mysterious as none was used.

Mad weather - torrrential hail followed by bright sunshine - a quick blip out in the garden where the gunnera has awoken and everything is greening up.

Thank you for all the lovely comments about sheepsheadplaces especially to those who sent private notes - very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.