Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Five Lamps

Work, work, work until mid afternoon, then in to town for the church removal of the brother of a long-time friend and ex work colleague, who'd died yesterday morning after a long illness.

I fully intended getting the bus and walking to the church, but waiting for a suitable moment to take a work break meant that I was too late leaving home and had to take the car. I grabbed this shot through the car window while stopped at the traffic lights at The Five Lamps, a Dublin landmark on the way. (There used be a hairdresser close to here many years ago that I patronised. I clearly remember my mother warning me that all the washing and blow drying wouldn't do my hair good. Perhaps she was right.)

I hung on in the church to pay me respects, then went for a bit of a walk before returning to the car. I didn't fancy getting caught up in the evening rush, so pared the car again near St Stephen's Green and decided to hang on for a bite to eat until the traffic eased off. Around the corner from the Unicorn restaurant is an associated place called Il Segreto which I've been threatening for a while to try. They offer two courses for 19 euro 50, so this was a as good a time as any to pop in. It was okay (actually, the Chicken Chasseure was quite good, even though served in a shallow bowl rather than on a plate).

Back home afterwards to more work and to drool over the iPad 3 that was announced a few hours earlier.

-------------------------------------------

My excuse for almost forgetting that I still had a blip gap to fill is that the calendar moved to a new month and the gap wasn't in my face. Fortunately, the cookie finally crumbled tonight when I was doing some back-tracking and I dug out what came off the camera (not much) on 27th and 28th February --

Evening seafront
Street shadows

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.