A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Earworms

This isn't an earworm, it is sparkly raindrops on a hellebore.

An actual earworm is that annoying tune that gets stuck in your head and you can't get rid of it. A fuller description is on the BBC website. This morning on the TV they were looking for people to send in remedies for it.

As a teenager I used to get earwormed to a maddening degree but nowadays if a song gets stuck in my head it is usually because I like it so I don't mind at all. I usually just start singing it out loud, luckily at my work I can get away with this unless I am sat at the computer!

I have heard one technique for getting rid of earworms is to start thinking of another song as soon as possible. I don't know what the likelihood of that song then getting stuck in your head is though!

PS-The salad leaves I planted on Sunday have started coming up already! Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.