Red Flash

By RedFlash

Yellow Line Number 4

Yes, we all knew that it would end this way with me in the gutter.

The weather was so dreich today that I lacked inspiration. So here am I and the camera in the gutter. Please note that I did wait until the lights were red before squatting in the wet.

And yes I did get some funny looks, but for you I will do nearly anything to please.

It was wet and windy so there were several discarded broken umbrellas.

Operating a camera with one hand is a challenge - successfully managed on Sunday - yes those are my fingers, probably as close as you will get to a self portrait.

So I put on a hat that covers my messy hair and off I had gone in pursuit of a blip and to the post office to post a present for a friend who is feeling a bit under the weather. Receiving a gift should at least cheer them up briefly.

London Underground Map (continuing yesterday's theme)

The present London Underground Tube map was created in 1931 by Harry Beck, an English engineering draftsman. Beck drew up the diagram in his spare time while working as an engineering draftsman at the London Underground Signals Office. London Underground was initially sceptical of Beck's radical proposal - it was an uncommissioned spare-time project, and it was tentatively introduced to the public in a small pamphlet in 1933. It immediately became popular, and the Underground has used topological maps to illustrate the network ever since.

For those who travel around London all of the time, you will know not to believe that the different lines connect at little dots but that connection often means a very long walk and lots of going up and down escalators.

If you are planning a trip to London look at where you want to go, locate the nearest under ground station and then plan the route. If you can get close without changing then I would recommend that you do that. The remaining walk will probably be short and you will see so much more of London,

PS Thanks to you I am on the Spotlight page again with some of your images - twice this week. Two more to reach the challenge set by RichieBoo (who made it to the spotlight with Infinity Glows )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.