Robin at large

By Robin

Gordon Highlander

This statue to the Gordon Highlanders regiment stands on Castlegate, a square at the East end of Union Street. It is a recent addition to the area of the Law Courts and City Hall having only been unveiled in October 2011. In the West end of Aberdeen there is a museum also commemorating the Gordon Highlanders who were largely recruited from Aberdeen and the surrounding are. This side of the statue shows a soldier from around 1790 and on the other side there is a soldier from around 1990.

Castlegate is a fairly large but under-utilised square at the end of Union Street. This was a day of sunshine and showers. I had considered posting a photo of the City Hall, but it has been done before whereas I have not noticed this statue previously. Pity the light was fairly good.

I see I got my shadow in the picture again! I thought that might have happened. I had a couple of photos without the shadow, but didn't like the angle so much. I think the colour may be a bit too brown also. I'll have to have a look the next time I am passing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.