OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Kettles

I headed up Scorradale road and then north up a track between Hill of Dale and Croy Hill, then up Gruf Hill. My intention was to continue up to Ward Hill and then down the other side into Stenness, but the wind from the north was fierce and it felt like I was on a treadmill in the gym, for all the progress I was making.

I stopped below the ridge to look over Linnadale where I saw the rough-legged buzzard last week while searching for a white-tailed sea eagle. No such rarities today, though. I could see that the top of Ward Hill was shrouded in low cloud and I decided- phooey- what's the point of struggling up there if it's clouded-in? So I just headed down Linnadale and onto the road to The Bu, then the shore path along to Houton.

This range is in a derelict cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.