Lindis 2

Up early, packing, and getting ready to head home. Adam had a birthday party to get back to at 2pm, as you do.

Rainy morning and it continued as we drove north. The occasional stop to pick mushrooms, a few around, yum!

And then home, unpacking, and a review of how it all went.

The time. Results came out today. 2:50:20, 403rd overall and 89th in my division (out of 326). Pretty pleased with that time, over half an hour off since the last time I did it. Stoked! Anyway, here's my synopsis, for my future reading ;-)

Bike
No complaints, although I wonder if I stiffened up the rear suspension too much. I'll tinker further.

Food
Yes, some work here. I was trying the use of gels and derivatives. In training they had seemed fine, but over 3 hours, too sweet and sticky. Also, I think I actually ate too much. I'll look at reverting party to some simple fruit bars and maybe try egg sandwiches recommended by HPX ;-)
So, next time, a mix of hi GI foods, jam sandwiches, simple fruit bars, with gel and chomps maybe at the end.

Water
I didn't drink enough, actually didn't feel like it as everything was too sweet. So, next time, 2 l of water and just 1 of Replace, and get into a routine of drinking. For some reason I let my routine go.

Fitness
Well, actually my fitness in the end seemed OK. Got there in a good time, didn't feel too stuffed and recovered well. But man, the first half of the race was hell. I think the problem was strength on the hills. Need to focus on this and do more "race simulation" i.e training in the backcountry on steep rugged tracks, roads etc

Body
Well, that was a problem. Sore back from early on. I'll admit it now, I did take Voltaren for several days in advance to try and head off the "sore back on the bike" issue. Didn't work. Back got just as sore riding up hills and back just as sore. What I need is more core strength, yep, that means lots of Pilates in the next few weeks.

OK, maybe this is all a bit navel gaze'ish, but the idea was to help identify areas I need to improve. Strength (and fitness obviously), eating, and core strength.

Looking for another event late March/early April to help gauge the progress.

Overall, 2 hrs 50. Pretty freakin happy with that, so I have to keep this all in perspective!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.