thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 54 #366photos: Purim

8 March 2012

These two boys made me smile on my commute to work today. It was a surreal moment when I walked on to the carriage to be greeted to two boys in bright red onesies. Everyone on the carriage was staring but pretending not to.

They put me in such a great mood that I had to ask them what they were dressed as. Being teenagers, I didn't really get a straight answer out of them. They told me that they were dressed as Thing one and Thing two from The Cat in the Hat. They didn't expand any further but allowed me to take a photo of them (thank you - I was very impressed with all the effort and detail you both went to create your costumes, from the velcro signs to the plimsolls and blue-sprayed hair).

I thought that perhaps the fancy dress was in aid of a belated World Book Day, but when I heard them talking about a friend dressing up as Super Mario, that put paid to that theory.

Only later in the day did it become clear - when I saw a news article about the Jewish celebration of Purim, and the customs of masks and costumes, or fancy dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.