The Daily Record

By havohej

And so it begins.....tomorrow!

I spent four hours yesterday sorting my records into alphabetical order and I took this pic of the fruits of my labours with my ears still ringing with the lilting tones of last night's sing star choir. Bet Cors was glad she left early...

So the records are done and the process made me realise how many I have which I remember dearly and associate with certain events in my life and also how many I barely listened to, before the next batch took my attention, and they were forgotten about.

Seeing as I invest a large amount of my disposable income on my collection I thought it would be good for me to go back through them all and revisit some old friends and reacquaint myself with some which had been cruelly ignored.

I'll begin with A and work my way through. I'll only listen to one record per artist and I'll either go for my favourite or the most obscure release by each band, this means that I might forgo 'Welcome to the Pleasuredome' in favour of 'Liverpool', but I will almost certainly choose 'Master Of Puppets' over 'Load'!

The collection is absolutely all over the place due to my magpie like ability to inherit record collections from those who now see the wonderful pieces of wax as a burden in their limited living spaces and are more than happy to let their once prized possession go to a loving home. I was amazed to find that I had five Cat Stevens LPs and two Nana Mouskouri LPs lurking in the shadows of the multiple versions of Morbid Angel's 'Blessed are the Sick'!

The rules have been set - no TV before 9pm and I'm looking forward to getting stuck in. If some bloke pontificating about the value of his record collection can get 600 follows elsewhere on the web then hopefully some of you will enjoy following me on my sonic journey.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.