A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

Shades of Green

Have spent this afternoon out in the garden, in this glorious sunshine we are having ,trying to remove all the green algae from the paths around the house with the pressure hose.
Flip the coin, and out of all the pics I could have chosen for today, I have settled on this one, taken on the daily dog run, of a tree covered in moss! I have never in my life seen a tree trunk to be such a vibrant shade of green!
I love to look at the root systems of trees and how they radiate out like the arms of a giant octopus.They never seem quite substantial enough to anchor such massive Lords of the forest.It always amazes me .Surprised more trees don't fall over.
So, in looking at these root systems on the forest floor, I noticed the extreme green of this tree trunk.It was like a carpet of velvet creeping up the bark, enveloping it in its richness. This specimen was the only one to wear such a glorious shade of green.I wonder why this should be when they were all living in the same conditions?
Maybe it is getting spruced up in its leprechaun green suit ,ready for St Patrick's day on Saturday. Perhaps these are witches, bony fingers, ready to grab some unsuspecting passer-by,or maybe,just maybe ,little green men from Mars live inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.