Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Studio, for rent

"Cozy studio cabin in the woods, perfect for young couple starting family. Nice lawn, great views, nice neighbors, excellent restaurant within flying distance. Inquire within..."

A pair of black capped chickadees (poecile atricapillus) were checking out the wren house today. I am cautiously optimistic that they will soon be signing a lease. This little guy spent quite a bit of time examining it, including a roof inspection. Most of the time, he had his head in the hole, checking out the interior structure. Then, he did a small bit of renovation on the front door, all the time checking with the Mrs who was sitting above him in one of the cedars. I also saw them check out a couple of woodpecker holes, but they returned to the cabin several times... keep your collective fingers crossed...

(this was taken from maximum distance away, using Big Daddy and a tripod - and I still had to crop the hell out of it!)

I spent several hours prepping my little garden space today - raked in some compost from my bin, and tidied up. It is way too early to plant outside here, but I am itching to get my fingers in the dirt. Yes, spring is in the air ... for me and for the birds!

Judging from the plethora of spring-ish blips, it seems like I am not the only person in the northern hemisphere who is ready for spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.