MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Pedra Cebola

I don't think I had mentioned this before, but one of the times I cut through Pedra Cebola park, I realized that Pedra meant stone, and that Peter was God's rock. It's something so simple, but it was like this huge connection suddenly formed between some neurons in my brain. Like the time my sister and I were visiting her friends in Spain, and in a discussion about Columbus we suddenly realized that Columbia was named after him... These things are meaningless and somewhat obvious, but maybe that's what makes the moment much more profound, internally.

Anyway! After recovering from the festa of los putos, Coralie and I went to the beaches of Isla da Boi with Lorena and her father. The sun clouded over as soon as we arrived, so it was perfect for me. We did some snorkeling, but I realized I can't stand snorkeling in water with poor visibility. I'd rather see nothing underwater at all. There's still some cool things there though! And it was great to be swimming again- even if it WAS in a ridiculous Brazilian swimsuit.

Lorena also invited us along to a picnic at Pedra, which is where this photo came from, since I completely forgot, again, to take a photo of something I saw during the day. Lorena's friends were very nice and invited us over to their house for pizza (Dominos, of all things :P) and a movie- a really funny Brazilian movie with (thankfully) English subtitles! We did a lot of talking too- two of her friends are into nature and photography, and I might have some more buddies to help me find cool things around Espirito Santo! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.