MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Sweet Humidity

As evidenced by my "e" string, violins are not huge fans of humid air. But my hands could also be the culprit. Alas! today was a working day and as such I've nothing overly interesting to report about Brazil itself. I stopped by the Padaria (bakery, of sorts) and bought some bread. They don't have a terribly large selection, but I love that "french bread" can be so different around the world. Coralie, being actually from France, would argue, I'm sure, that French bread here and in the US as well is absolutely terrible, relative to the bread it's trying to imitate. A large quantity of the "breads" here- or the breads available behind the counter- are stuffed with some sort of meat. I believe they call these things "salgados" which just basically means salt. I am starting to see that Brazilians really only use salt to flavor their food- it's not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.