MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

With a Little Help from my Friends

Tonight was Moqueca Capixaba night! My very own capixaba amigo (meaning he hails from Espirito Santo), Diogo, took me through the market near his house and helped me buy fresh fish (we used a small type of shark) and shrimp. Then later, he helped me cook it, since I've essentially zero experience cooking fresh seafood (or moqueca, for that matter). It was pretty delicious, and I LOVE (I mean LOVE) the pot they use to cook Moqueca. I'm debating how to get one home- they weigh like 3olbs...

Today was not a good day for my portugues, entendeu? I think I spent too much time yesterday working in English. But I got to campus around lunchtime- learned how to handle the cafeteria, and also met up with some of the French students from the churrasco. I think a daily excursion to campus would be good for my portugues, and my spirit. No one likes being cooped up in a house all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.