The Poss

By PossMan

Window

Went into Inverness on a spending spree - anticipating my 90th birthday. And no I'm not really 89, or anywhere near it, but I anticipated my 89th (and 88th, 87th...... ) long ago. I took with me a little booklet "A Guided Walk Round Inverness" by John Pearson thinking I could do one of those shots where you look past the hand in the foreground holding a picture (in this case a line drawing) of the scene to the scene itself. I was thinking the old Custom House/Post Office would be a good start followed by Mealmarket Close. But it's harder than it looks so whilst I still had some money in the bank I returned up Church Street and noticed this window at first floor level. I think it looks quite "classy". I didn't make a note of the shop underneath but think it's a music shop. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like if all the streets in central Inverness went up a level (or all the buildings lost their bottom story).
By the way, for any visitors to Inverness interested in such things, Pearson's booklet is a good introduction to the central area. Although a man called Edward (?) Meldrum wrote a much more detailed account of the burgh's architecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.