Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Memories of the Jeepney

If you have been to the Philippines you will be familiar with the Jeepneys, a classic mode of transport in Manilla and other places. To travel in one is unforgettable, if you survive.

It's twelve years since I was there. I was asked where I wanted to go over lunch in London with a Filippino diplomat. Those were the days when we were lunched in fine restaurants. I remember Pierce Brosnan, the then James Bond, walking in late with a lady on his arm and being told that the chef had packed up for the afternoon.

So I went home, read up a bit, looked at the map and chose three places:
Banaue, Palawan and Mindanao. It was a great trip and this is what I brought back. It's far too crude to be a toy and it had been hidden away in a drawer until I found it the other day. I must dig out my pre-digital photographs now. I had some good ones. Blipfoto came a bit too late for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.