Trees and light, Woodham Common

I very nearly didn't venture out today. But I thought perhaps a little break in the hermit-like behaviour I've adopted recently might be no bad thing and I'm so glad I changed my mind.

The light through the trees at Woodham Common just on the edge of Woking, was wonderful. It had a hazy blue quality that the lens picked up. I'm very happy with the results. The light was so good I should have tried a lower ISO to see how it made a difference but that's a bit of personal nit-picking, can't help it. I like to compare images at different settings and using different processes.

This has just what I was looking for - dark spindly trees, the blue light and splashes of sunshine on the path going off in to the wood where a wolf is waiting to........Sorry, not in the script.

After a slight hiatus for research and navel-gazing, the book is moving again, up to 37,000 words with a bit of travelling in prospect (that's in the book, not reality).

We should have an Atlantic crossing to post Prohibition New York in 1934 in the next day or two. I'd been thinking about the Queen Mary but she wasn't launched at the time so I've settled for the Britannic sailing out of Liverpool. Not that my main character sees much; he's busy in the engine rooms most of the time, but he does see the Statue of Liberty out of a porthole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.