Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cupcakes? What's the fuss?

With an invalid at home today, my carefree dotting about is curtailed. Actually -what's more to the point - the sole use of the iPad is curtailed. While still abed, I normally read the papers, TV blogs, emails and spend some time reading blips, but not this morning. It has been taken over. The invalid is almost as hooked on blips as I am, browsing journals and showing me fantastic close-ups of flowers and insects, or moody windswept shots of high hills. Almost, but not quite, saying "Why don't you do ones like that?"

So I'm banished to the computer. Not such a banishment, as it's actually much better to view blips and do bookings on. Read on!

In a couple of weeks we're doing a house swap with a lady in Hove. House swapping is FUN, and I will expand on it in future blips. But this one will be different, as we're looking after A DOG. Prepare for some doggie blips!

But the point is, Hove is near London, and in London is the David Hockney exhibition, which I would LOVE to go to. Tickets are all sold out, unless you want to queue up and wait hours on the off-chance. However, while browsing last night I discovered that if I have afternoon tea at the gallery restaurant I will be rewarded for this hardship with Tickets for the Show!! It has duly been booked! And the train tickets. Isn't the internet amazing! Just hope I've done them for the same day... I am SO pleased. I love Hockney's work and being an iPad fan, I think he's amazing - leading the way at his age! And I love afternoon teas!

Apart from reading all the rave reviews and seeing all the TV shows about the exhibition, I KNOW it must be a great exhibition because a pal of mine, who wouldn't go and see Elizabeth Blackadder's exhibition in Edinburgh because it wasn't free, actually paid to see this one!!
;-) (just teasing, B)

I now have to spend hours on the phone to the car insurance folk. We're house swapping in July with people in Noosa and we're swapping cars for the first time. In Oz and NZ, the car is insured for any (licensed) driver. But in the UK, the person is insured, and it's VERY complicated for people who don't have a UK licence. Wish me luck.

Due to my nursing duties today (not too onerous - the patient is STILL happy with the iPad), I popped out to a wee shop nearby which is FULL of sweeties and cupcakes. I felt a bit guilty just taking a photo and going out without buying anything... Also, I would rather have had the raspberry- topped ones to the fore, but felt I couldn't ask the owner to rearrange her display.

But I really don't see why people go crazy about them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.