Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Trauma at the Pool

My 1km swim this morning was marred by trauma!

I was ducking and diving my way under the lane markers, heading for the Slow Lane - they change the lanes after 8am - when I bobbed up in a lane, but the clip on the halter neck of my cossie must have caught and undid itself and it fell down round my waist. By the time I'd realised there was an unaccustomed bit of draft in that region, I'd said, 'Hello' to the man already in that lane. I made a grab for the wall with one hand, and clamped my other hand at the back of my neck to hold the thing up till I got to where I could get a foothold at the steps - several lanes away. Thus I made my way across the pool, bidding cheerful 'Hello' s to all I met.

BTW, the trauma was on the poor man's part - not mine, lol.

I also did two lengths of my cycle/jogging/treading water stroke. It's a killer!

What a lovely day! Over breakfast I toyed with the idea of going to see the grebes again at Linlithgow, or going to Balerno to walk part of the Water of Leith, or going to Figgate Park to catch the wee lonely shoveller. I memorised the map and the bus and decided to head to Balerno. But in my rush to catch the bus, I realised I didn't have any money with me. Now, normally I don't need any, but I think it's sensible just to have some when out on a jaunt for the day. One never knows if lightheadedness and fainting will necessitate an immediate scone stop.

So I just had a wander in town instead. What a beautiful morning! Then I spied old Tom, who has been blipped by others many times, and I've been meaning to blip him. What a great chap he is. You can read more about him here (with apologies that it's The Sun, but it gives more of his life story, which is amazing). But suffice to say, he's 93, but has been out in the streets most days for many years, collecting for the five charities he supports. He's collected hundreds of thousands of pounds! The exact amount seems to vary, but what an achievement.

He wasn't in his full regalia today - normally he's in his kilt with all his medals, which makes for a better photo. And yes, I know - I didn't have any money to give him. But I will another day. I see him all the time.

I popped into My Club for a coffee, chocolate digestive (2) a Diet Coke, a read of the papers and some blip browsing on their iPads. I'm now home again to have a quiet day and do some chores watch Boardwalk Empire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.