Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Play, a Pie, a Pint and a P**

I can always get into to the rather cool pool without actually emitting any audible gasps, but entry does involve a sharp intake of breath. But today, I got in twice and made a rather pleasant discovery.

I was not going to risk another wardrobe malfunction by ducking under the lane markers to get to the Slow Lane, so I climbed out and walked along to the other side. This was a chilly exercise, and I wasn't looking forward to having to get in again. But - no! It felt like getting into a toasty warm bath!! I know there is some scientific explanation, but it felt like magic!

Took Molly for a walk. I don't feel too bad if I'm not regular, as there are other folk who take her out. In fact, she was going out again in the afternoon. Today I forgot to collect a doggie bag as well as the ball. Panic! But - what are the odds? (high) - I spotted a discarded sandwich bag and stuffed it in my pocket, just in case.

She didn't do anything in the park, but on the way home, yes, she stopped right by some men digging up the road (there can't be a road in Edinburgh that isn't being dug up) and did a great big multi poo. I was SO glad I had my bag, as I could not have walked on and pretended she wasn't with me. However, the bag was not a proper soft doggie bag, but was rather stiff plastic, so it was quite tricky to get it all in. I didn't even attempt to shut the bag, but just held it out at arm's length till we came to a bin. The joys of dog walking!

I was on my way to the Traverse Theatre's lunchtime session - 'A Play, a Pie and a Pint'. Designed to attract the lunchtime crowd, it was very well attended. I had a macaroni pie. Doesn't sound too enticing, and indeed sounds very Scottish, but it was delicious!

I also had a pint. Of course, you could have anything else, you didn't have to have a pint! I haven't had a pint since the heady days of several pints on a night out in the excellent hostelries in Ayr, the scene of my training college days and first few years' teaching. I took it in to the play with me, it being rather a lot of liquid for an old biddie to finish in 20 minutes, and in the dark, comfy warm seats, I began to feel very drowsy...

The play was good. Three excellent women. I kept wanting to take a photo, no flash, of course, but I don't think you're allowed. I met an ex-colleague who is a regular at these thespian events.

Home to find the internet down. They predicted 9pm to be fixed, so they're ahead of themselves. I've been watching recordings of 'Parks and Recreation' - laugh out loud funny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.