Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Successful morning

There is a speciality wine/beer shop next to bus stop that I use now that I’ve moved. So I spend a bit of time gazing in the window at the interesting wares. I spotted an Edinburgh Gin in a nice wee fat bottle. I went in to chat the the chap, who was very personable, and so of course I couldn't leave without buying a bottle. I’m not a big spirits fan, but certainly every gin and tonic I’ve had, I’ve enjoyed…

JR has had a hard week at work, and so a nice G&T this afternoon is required. G&T requires ice cubes, but our trays are mislaid/left behind/chucked out in the move. I set off into town to procure a new one. And also go and see the Photographic Exhibition. Both completed successfully.

Popped into my one of my new favourite shops - Poundland. I like this idea. No silly little 1p change. They have everything. Except ice trays. I got three items, including 'Lawn Food'. £3.

I can never resist taking photos down into the Grand Hall of the Portrait Gallery. Continuing from my history lesson yesterday, I spotted a several familiar figures around the frieze, although I should have moved right slightly, as the most famous figure, and one of the few women, is Mary Queen of Scots, and she’s behind a chain.

The exhibition was interesting. I liked all the wee stories with the photos. Some photos were outstanding, but some many caused me to stand and wonder how it was chosen out of 2,435 entries from all over the world.

Had to pop into Lakeland, who of course had ice trays (not costing £1, mind you). But I got a wee bag of re-usable plastic ones. They won’t have the nice chink-chink of real ice cubes.

But then again they won’t dilute the alcohol. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.