Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A tricky leak...

There was a lot of loud beeping and noise and voices over the tannoy this morning as I was powering labouring down the Slow Lane, goggles steamed up, so couldn't see a thing. Water in ears, plus bathing cap over them, so couldn't really hear the announcement. Wondered, vaguely, if it was an emergency, as I've never heard a tannoy announcement before. Wondered, vaguely, as I chugged on, if everybody had evacuated the building. If it was a fire, I'd be safe...

So when I eventually got to the end of the length and grabbed the wall, I grabbed an attendant's foot as well. He was crouched there, waiting for my arrival. Jings!

'Madam, we have to evacuate the building. Why did it take you so long to get here? Hurry up, there's only you and I left here!'

No, I lie!

But for a brief moment I did think it was something of that ilk. No attendant has ever been waiting for me before. He just wanted to inform me that the Slow Lane was now going to change direction and swim anti-clockwise. I've no idea what the tannoy announcement was, but I don't think they were announcing to the world that the Slow Lane was changing direction. Could be wrong...

I am going to have a day at home, doing chores, in between fiddling in my darkroom cupboard and buying new togs online (thanks, aprecious). I have checked in for the Barcelona flights (exciting!) and so now I have to pop the iPod in (the Avett Brothers, as Chamaeleo went to a concert last night and I'm jealous) and tidy up the house in places that don't normally need tidying get tidied.

I got a nice letter back from the Man in Charge of Fountains. He remembered my two letters re the non-founting of the fountain in Princes Street Gardens. Here and here.

He explained that the leak was very tricky (his emphasis) and will require pressure grouting. A full survey has been done on the fountain which has identified a long-term but costly restoration plan, which will require some 'serious funding'. He declared that he now has the support to implement this plan. He is happy to meet me on site and explain more fully. I think I will take him up on that!

So I used the bunch of daffs, still going strong. In my favourite vase. You can see the torch light reflections. The vase actually has a huge crack going up from the bottom of the nose to the top rim, but I used the 'healing brush' in PS to fix it up. Would that it were that easy in real life!

I hope you noticed that I refrained from using the water spray this time. It was a close call, though.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.