Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Memories #3: Ski Holidays

One of my subs is making me envious! Another one reminded me how overcast the days have been this winter in the UK. I remembered the weeks of snow, frost and early morning mists of the winter of 09/10, my first winter on blip. There was so much snow it was a relief not to blip it.

That led me on to think of snowy winters I have loved, the ones when The Man was teaching skiing in Outdoor Ed and organising ski trips for the students. For a few years, I paid my way and went along to assist. A couple of times our own children came along too.

The students had ski lessons and we joined in too with some of the more experienced pupils. It was a way of keeping an eye on the kids on the slopes and improving our own skills.

At the end of a course we always skied with the kids taking the badge tests. That was about 20 years ago. This is my Gold badge, I wonder how I would do now?

EDIT: My thoughts are with the families and friends of those killed and injured in Switzerland returning from a ski trip. I heard the news after I posted this blip and have no alternatives for the day.

Memories #2: Tap Shoes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.