October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The Church and The First School

Now we are a little closer to the center of Seltjarnarnes. You already recognize the church, but the green house in the middle of the picture is the first schoolhouse that was built in Iceland in 1874.
In the distance you can still see the tower of Hallgrímskirkja.
If you look closely at yesterdays picture and follow an imaginary line from the two panoramic points, you will find a small white block with a sculpture on it.
The sculpture is here. It is called The Religions and is by Ásmundur Sveinsson (1893-1982) one of our great sculptors. The inserted picture is of him and me, taken by a friend in 1964. To take the picture on this site I stood on the horizontal plate with the hole in it and the sword going through.
So why did I walk back here to take another picture? Well, yesterday I lost an expensive pen I had bought as a donation to The Icelandic Cancer Society and I thought that maybe I had lost it around this place - so why not take the small camera along and make a blip out of it.
No, I have not found the pen yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.