Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

An Unexpected Morning

Today is March 13th, only a few days from spring here on the Oregon coast, and snow is not what we expect!

But that's what we got, starting about 11pm last night with very wet snow continuing into great clumps of flakes through 2am.

We got to bed late and couldn't sleep with the excitement of snow outside, so my happy wife danced around looking and listening, while I blearily looked on.

Finally, with the morning sun peeking through now and again, I ventured out, leaving by the back door and walking only around the periphery to protect any potential photo-ops from offending foot-prints.

Unable to find my good camera (left on an obvious window-sill in a weak moment), I went armed with my cell-phone, which is held together with electrical tape, but miraculously has never incurred a lens scratch so did a decent job for me with a lot of good captures.

While I was up by the mail boxes capturing images of our little valley, a kid came down the hill on a four-wheeled all terrain vehicle. He had come clear from town, just exploring. He told how a police car pulled him over on the main road, but the officer couldn't put his finger on an infraction, so he let the kid go on his merry way.

And that was the kind of grace-filled morning it was. Nothing could stifle the joy in our little valley.

As I was headed back down the hill to our house, I took a westward shot of some trees brightly lit in front of some very black clouds when all of a sudden the clouds spilled over the trees dropping their heavy icy rain on the scene, and on me, totally soaking my "Weatherproof" (brand) jacket and me in the process before I could make it to cover.

And the day continued to blossom, totally uninhibited by my bleary, sleep-deprived view of it.

And I was happy to be there for the experience.

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.