Naturelover

By Naturelover

OPEN WATER!

I got up before sunrise this morning to take my kayak out for the first time this year.

I'm so glad I got up early!! The lake was still, like glass, and the air was full of sounds.

At the far end of our lake I could hear sandhill cranes, Canada geese, and something else, not sure what, as I paddled slowly away from our dock.

The something else turned out to be a flock of wild turkeys, with several males putting on a display with their tail feathers fully extended, showing off for the females. They were in the woods before dawn, so I couldn't get a good photo, but the experience was amazing!!

In the lower right corner you can still see ice...it's the last patch left on the lake.

Then up to my house to warm up and have a cup of coffee. I left the kayak out so I can take Sanibel for a tour this afternoon...supposed to be in the 70's.

I hope to be blipping my lake quite often this summer. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

pussywillow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.