Skip's Blips

By Skip

Waterfall experiment

Finally! I visited the Arboretum after my dentist appointment this morning and had an opportunity to investigate the effect of shutter speed on the flow of water. I knew from reading a variety of photography books that a slower shutter speed would have a big effect on the appearance of the flowing water. Today I experimented. The picture above is taken with a shutter speed of 1/4 second and an aperture of F22. This picture was taken with a shutter speed of 1/50 second and an aperture of F11.

Which effect do you like better? Do more people like the slow shutter speed and smoother water or do more people like the other one better? Or will it be 50-50? Little by little I am learning about photography, but I have such a long way to go. But no matter...I'm have such fun along the way.

BTW-My favorite photography books are Understanding Digital Photography and Understanding Exposure. Both are by Bryan Peterson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.