Welsh-born actress seen in London

We took a bus from Oxford to London and I said goodbye to Guinea Pig Zero at Paddington Station where he caught a train to Heathrow Airport for his flight back to Philadelphia.
I went for a little wander in the neighbourhood to readjust before going to spend some time with the Old Man.
On Paddington Green, a small park in the vicinity, I came across this statue of the actress Sarah Siddons, born, like me, in Sir Frycheiniog/Breconshire. Her parents were touring there at the time when she entered the world in 1755, and she soon followed them on to the boards, becoming one of the most celebrated tragediennes ever. It was said that her performances were literally show-stopping, the audience sometimes insisting to know that she had not actually expired at the end of a particularly gruelling scene. Her most famous part was Lady Macbeth but she also took the role of Hamlet many times, the first woman to do so.
And thus I would refer you to GPZ's blip of the female Hamlet in the performance we so much admired yesterday.
Sarah Siddons died in 1812 and is buried at Paddington Green. No great beauty, her fame was such during her lifetime that she was painted by the celebrity artists William Beechey, Joshua Reynolds and Thomas Gainsborough, the last complaining "confound the nose, there's no end to it."

As I child I would sometimes go to the rural market town of Brecon by bus, with my parents, and before leaving we would usually resort to her birthplace, The Shoulder of Mutton, where my father liked to have a pint. It was a dark and dingy old pub, still there but now called The Sarah Siddons. When I visited Brecon just with my mother she would take me to a cafe near the bus station instead, where I would have fish and chips -on a plate (there's posh!)

Right now I am just hoping that Guinea Pig Zero makes a safe return to his home and his cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.