Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Convergence

I love the way lines and shapes converge. I also like seeing something ordinary and day to day in a different light.

I was out walking Echo this morning, (we met a beautiful Hungarian Vizsla called Poppy), when I walked past this fence post.

I grew up in the 70's and 80's, a much more political time, a time of direct action; steelworkers and miners striking. A lot of these disputes happened where I grew up in the North East.

One of the biggest movements was the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament. It was a movement (like anti apartheid) that shaped, one way or another, my generation.

And here I am nearly 30 years later photographing this fence post, shaped like the CND icon. The other change is that we have gone from direct action to digital action. I wonder what Monsignor Bruce Kent would have made of Twitter and whether he would have be an Android or iOs man.

Photo: edited and enhanced in Snapseed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.