A rural life for me

By Rhubarrb

My Grandpa and his twin brother

This is my beloved grandpa Benjamin Barker (on the right) and his twin William.

They were born around 1917 (I can't find the exact date tonight but I will continue to search!!) and were identical. They were very close and developed a special telepathic bond as many twins do.

Willie was always the more serious of the two as can be seen in this phtoto. My Grandpa Ben was much more laid back and full of fun.

Ben was deaf and so didn't get sent to war. He was a gardener by trade which is how he met my granny...... but that is a whole other blip!

My mum remembers sometimes being at home and grandpa would come down the stairs in the morning and announce that 'Willie is coming today.' There were no phones and no letters would pass but he would always know.... and sure enough at some point that day Willie would turn up unannounced.

Mum often remembers them sitting on the sofa saying nothing but suddenly they would burst out laughing about some secret thought or conversation that they had had in their heads.

In the early 1970's Willie became quite seriously ill. It turned out he had a tumour and died very quickly. My Grandpa was devastated. He spent days and days sitting by the cliffs of Cape Wrath on his own where my parents lived at the time, trying to come to terms with his loss. The doctors were very worried that he may have a tumour too as the brothers were so close/identical. But my Grandpa lived into his early 70s and was fit and well all his life.

My grandpa was an amazing man who I found fascinating. He was hugely popular in Torrance where he and my granny lived out the last 30 (?) years of their life. I was so proud he was my grandpa!!

I so wish I could have met Willie..... How amazing would it have been to have two identical Grandpas....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.