Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Resting up

An incident today where I felt I absolutely had to find a way to better educate about equality and diversity and I'm so glad that after writing down my thoughts, I have indeed been given the opportunity to do a presentation on the subject.

It's not easy to hear "What's wrong with your child? Why doesn't he go to hospital?" especially in a safe environment. But I hope that I can at least make a difference at this place, one that's important to us. (I'll add the comment was from a minor but I have heard it from every walk of life and it's consistently the word used, "wrong").

Education, communication, compassion, understanding. They are essential. Educating our children about diversity and equality. Treating and addressing others as we'd like to treated ourselves. I'm forever grateful that Callum has learnt one of the greatest lessons in life, that of compassion for his fellow man and I am overwhelmed with pride for him right now in how he deals with this. Can there really be anything more noble?

All still nursing colds, and now chest infections, Reuben's surgery delayed, but tonight, I nestled Callum into me and we watched the opening two episodes of Downton Abbey Season I on my iMac, downloaded. Utterly hooked. This has always been my favourite time in both British and American literature along with the Regency period.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.