BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

It's Mothers Day in the UK

What better to blip today than (a photo of) a couple of photos of my wonderful Mum - taken in the late 1940's when she was around 17/18 - one a studio portrait and the other (which is one of my favourites) a candid shot taken, I suspect, in the Valley Gardens in Harrogate.

UPDATE: Seems my Mum was 16 in the portrait shot (compliments to Barney Vollans - late professional photographer from Knaresborough, North Yorkshire - she was 17 in the candid shot and it was taken on Montpellier Hill in Harrogate (only a stones throw from the Valley Gardens so I wasn't far out!!!). David WAS the photographer (as mentioned in one of my comment replies - he took the picture with a Leica camera and developed it himself!)

I know she will think I haven't sent her a card this year but what she doesn't know is that I will be delivering it by hand along with a little present (can't say what in case she sees this before I get there!).

To all the sons and daughters out there who, for whatever reason, cannot wish their Mums a happy day I send my best wishes and to all the Mums without a son or a daughter to wish them a happy day I send my "love".

I know just how lucky I am to still have my Mum around in good health and in good spirits.

Have a lovely day everyone.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.