A Cormorant Collecting .............

.............. nesting stuff!!!!

Spent a brilliant afternoon with Velofor at a fabulous nature reserve that I never knew existed - it's a 120 mile round trip for me but I suspect I will be making that trip quite regularly this spring/summer!!!

We (or at least I) had a great time - he's very good company and knows so much about so much - and he bought me a blueberry muffin and a cuppa so an all-round good egg!!! Thanks Velo!!!!!!

I saw some 'firsts' too - redpoll, goldeneye, grebe - but, although I have seen cormorant before and I had to crop the shot heavily, I chose this one because I'm cr*p at taking shots of moving things and it came out quite well - also the sheen on the feathers shows nicely in the sunshine.

After a tiny bit of research I think this cormorant (Phalacrocorax carbo carbo) is showing a white "breeding patch" under the wing


29/52 of my personal birdie challenge 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.