Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Last chance visit to FCB Cadell exhibition

My friend and I had been promising ourselves that on a 'rainy day' we'd visit the FCB Cadell exhibition at the Dean Gallery in Edinburgh, but here it is, March and the exhibition finishes on the 18th, so we hot-footed it over there this morning.

Woah! Was it busy. Lots of people like us who'd waited till the last gasp to go to the exhibition. But we managed to find head-space to relax and enjoy the wonderful collection of paintings which had been amassed for the exhibition - many of which are in private collections so we may not be lucky enough to see them again.

Inspired by the idea of painting interior scenes viewed through an opening, here's one from inside our house.

Of course you are not allowed to photograph while at exhibitions, which I think is a real shame. People like me who rely on visual memory need such reminders, and it isn't going to stop me buying reproductions etc. That said, there was a small group of ladies who ignored the warnings of the warden in one room and took photographs of one of their number standing posed in front of one of the paintings. My friend and I marveled at their bravado, and wondered if the warden's patience would have been as great if it had been a crowd of young students.

I'd have liked a photograph of the room in which the exhibition was held as the upper floors of the Dean Gallery must have many stories to tell from the days when the space was an orphanage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.