Travels with Alfie

By DavidCullen

The Bible Christian Chapel

A couple of you asked about the sad inscription in the Churchyard I referred to yesterday which was full of errors. I couldn't get a good picture of the 1778 inscription and I can't get the text formatted to show all the stonemason's errors, but here it is;

dear parents and brother to you I are come
trusting that God to you will guide me home
that with you my Soul may ever rest
With Joy forever Amonge the Blest
go home dear friends and shed no tears
I must lie here till Christ appears

There lots of mistakes on the stone - nowadays I don't think it would get past quality control!

The photo is of an old Chapel sign just outside the village; a foundation stone perhaps, rather unceremoniously cast into a breeze-block car park wall for the "new" Chapel. Now even the replacement Chapel has closed. What austere life it must have been in the 19th century for the local Devon miners working in appalling conditions, with a short life expectancy, being subjected to fire and brimstone sermons in the Chapel, with an early grave to look forward to (marked with a stone from the world's worst mason).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.